Representation of a Man

 

men

(http://www.alexisabramson.com/assets/MenCaregiverspic-405×280.jpg)

Every generation thrives off of successes and failures of the generation before them. The way people behave and act is often because of the people who raise them (parents), and the way parents act is because of the one’s who had raised them (grandparents) and so on. The article “The Generations of Men: How the Cycles of History Shape Your Values, Your Idea of Manhood, and Your Future” by Brett and Kate McKay compares generations to seasons, because it is always a continued cycle. Prophets were sensitive, Nomads wanted equality between genders, Heroes wanted to prove manliness through courage, Artists wanted to be the care takers, Hero-G.I.s wanted to be the strong authoritarian, Prophet-Boomers were spiritual and emotional, Nomad-Gen X-ers were cynical about marriage and wanted to prove manliness through fighting, and last but not least Hero-Millennials just want to be responsible and do the right thing (McKay).

 

It was hard to depict who represents manliness in this generation when most men in this generation are still so young and aren’t fully developed into their true potential. But, if I had to choose the man in the block with a question mark it would be my boyfriend Brandon. The McKay’s state that Millennial men  “…embody confidence and ambition, tempered with niceness, humility, and a good work ethic.” He takes care of his sister who is 16 years old, he thrives in school and does his work to his full potential, he is nice to everyone even when they don’t deserve it, he works 6 hours every day even when he is sick and never complains, he drives up to Ann Arbor almost twice a week to visit me, he is always concerned with what I want to do and always makes sure I’m feeling okay, he respects my parents and is always polite and most importantly he loves me for me. Sometimes I take my frustration or stress of other things out on him and cause fights but he always wants to work it out and he has never given up on me.

 

Millennial men, just like their grandfathers, “desire to return to a simple, straightforward, non-angsty approach to being a man…they want to be responsible, do the right thing, be competent, and get the job done. They want to live their live right and they want practical advice on how to do it” (McKay). Brandon has all of these traits, he is responsible, he gets the job done, he is always wanting to do the right thing, and he doesn’t need anything else besides the people he loves in order to be happy. To me, a man isn’t a man because of his abilities, his physical strength, or his talents. A man is a man based on his ambition and sincereness, someone who is honest and genuine. Someone who is confident but doesn’t feel the need to impress anyone else because he already knows he is good enough. True men aren’t worried about being too sensitive or too manly, they just do what makes them happy without caring about what anyone else thinks of them.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Representation of a Man

  1. I like the way you started your blog because I do agree that every generation thrives off of success and failures from before. I thought it was very sweet to mention your boyfriend. Great Blog!

  2. I really like how you incorporated your understanding of the reading into your blog. It was really nice to see that you picked you boyfriend to be the person in the box with the question mark. I would say that from what you describe your boyfriend as being is a great reason for being the person you elected. As I was reading your blog I really enjoyed reading your definition of what make a man a man and I totally agree with you. Overall your blog was good and I think this was your strongest point, ” A man is a man based on his ambition and sincereness, someone who is honest and genuine. Someone who is confident but doesn’t feel the need to impress anyone else because he already knows he is good enough. True men aren’t worried about being too sensitive or too manly, they just do what makes them happy without caring about what anyone else thinks of them”.

  3. I agree that the “Millennial men are like their grandfathers”. I rarely see that trait in a few males that I have met. Confidence is important. I like how you said that men want to be happy and Don’t care what others think. Good Job.

  4. I absolutely love this blog post! Your introduction caught my interest right off the bat, and even better that it was cited. I always find it difficult to reference to a source in my writings so I enjoy reading others’ blogs so I can see how I can improve. I think this was well written! The personal story of your boyfriend added a pathos appeal, and those are my favorite. The comparison between young men and their grandfather’s was brilliant. I’m glad that you included that because I can slowly see it coming back by the young men today. The ending was well done as well, nice syntax towards the end.

  5. I like you introduction. It was very captivating and made me want to read more. I also like how you were honest on the fact that you had a difficult time choosing who you wanted to represent the millennial generation. I like how you choose a line from the article and was able to interpret it’s meaning and apply it further.

Leave a Reply

