The Elite

Evan Louro

 

I chose to blog about the “Occupy Wall Street” movement. The reason I chose to write about this is because it was the most captivating and hit home the most for me. Living in that area that the “Occupy Wall Street” movement took place really made me realize things that were going on in the world that I would otherwise be unaware of. It really made me want to learn about the struggles that some people were going through and are still going through in this generation.

This being said I think that the actually purpose of this movement was to get people ware of what was going on with the 99% and how big the gap was between them and the 1%. It really made me want to gain knowledge about this and I know it wasn’t just me because many young people that didn’t know anything about this before the movement and this caused them to reach out and try to understand what was going on and why so many people were protesting in the street and why there was so much traffic in the area that it was going on because during this no one could drive anywhere because of all the traffic and delays.

I think that these movements breach many peoples value that live in that area of New York. This is the case because there is a lot of diversity. Some of the richest people in the world live in New York and you can just walk down the street and see some of the poorest. My family is sort of in the middle because we aren’t poor but we aren’t rich so we can kind of go both ways.

I think that this movement had good intentions but it has some things that I don’t agree with. I don’t think people should be punished for being rich. They are rich because they put in a lot of work and had many struggle in their life that other people that aren’t as wealthy ever went through. On the other hand many of those wealthy people had opportunities that the other side didn’t so you can really go both ways. Overall I think this movement was a success because it got people involved and aware which I think the goal was in the first place.IMG_0940

3 thoughts on “The Elite

  1. I will agree that it was good that the protest made people think about the 99%. It takes time for people to gain the wealth they have, however they should treated the same as everyone else.

  2. From your blog I can see that the Occupy in Wall Street had an impact on your life. Its crazy to think that since you live nearby it might have affected you more than others. I really liked how you incorporated some of your family’s background and blended it into your blog.
    Overall really great job on your blog and making connections to other things.

  3. I thought it was great that you stated the diverse economic demographic that roams NYC everyday. It helps to bring the conversation full circle and encompasses the direct message you are portraying; so we the readers don’t get caught up in the diversity of the people. I also like that you gave your own economic perspective, that was a really great touch to your blog.

Leave a Reply

