Another Dead Black Kid

Childs-sign-Could-I-be-the-next-Trayvon-Martin

(http://sfbayview.com/2013/07/acquittal/)

“A trial is what protesters and activists were demanding, instead of another black death swept under the rug as if our lives were worth less. But a trial in this particular case is not entirely justice, because there are deeper societal problems at play that mean another black kid could become the next Trayvon any day”(Toure).

“What were your first thoughts when you heard the verdict? What do you think gun laws should be in this country? If you could say one thing to the jury, what would it be? What do you think will come out of this case?” (Gangitano) These are just a few of the common questions that would have multiple different responses from people all over the world.

What is the first thought that comes to your mind when you think about Trayvon Martin? If I saw a young man wearing a dark hoodie walking behind me, I would feel threatened, but if I was in a car and I saw a young man wearing a dark hoodie, it would not have impacted me. I wonder why George Zimmerman felt threatened by a young black male who was walking down the street. According to George Zimmermann, his first thoughts when he looked at Trayvon were, “This guy looks like he’s up to no good or he’s on drugs or something. It’s raining, and he’s just walking around looking about.” A little later, he added, “Yeah, now he’s coming toward me. He’s got his hands in his waistband. And he’s a black male.” What bothered me the most about Zimmerman’s comment was the statement: “And he’s a black male.” It makes me wonder if being “black” is really a bad thing. Black is a shade of color. The negativity associated with the Black race is a barrier and a major disadvantage.

We do not have the option to change the color of our skin so why do certain people judge others based on race? Many minorities deal with being stereotyped based on their race or gender. I have personally been a victim of stereotyping because of my gender. Last year, I was enrolled in a class that once was considered an “all boys’ class.” Since I was the only girl, many of the boys would make comments that were offensive to me. Ironically, each time one of them would make a comment, they would say “no offense.” In Sherman Alexie short story, “Superman and Me,” he explains how he was also a minority. Being a minority has its privileges and Alexie went through something similar to this.

“A smart Indian is a dangerous person, widely feared and ridiculed by Indians and non-Indians alike.” This quote really sticks out to me because Alexie describes how many people do not expect Indians to be smart, simply because they are Indian. Alexie was special because he refused to fail. He was smart. He was arrogant. He was lucky. Alexie was strong to break out of the Indian stereotype. He escaped the stereotype by being arrogant enough to “[break] the fence” or to not care about what other people might think. I admire Alexie because he “[threw] his hands against the locked doors” which was symbolic to comic Superman because Superman was able to do things that regular people are not able to accomplish. Alexie refused to fail because he refused to be labeled as certain stereotypes. Not all people are able to do that. Trayvon Martin did not have a chance to rise above from his “stereotype.” If I am ever in a situation where people base me off typical stereotypes, I will stand up for the incredible individual that I am.

D.Parker

3 thoughts on “Another Dead Black Kid

  1. I really enjoyed the passion I felt from your writing, although at times it can be overwhelming, I think overall you handled the topic very professionally and it made your point believable.

  2. Very heartfelt opinion toward this very big issue. I could feel your passion through your words. I couldn’t agree more with your view on this topic. We as a generation need to attack racial issues in this country and stop just avoiding and sweeping them under the rug.

Leave a Reply

