The Fight Against the Unjust

The case involving Treyvon Martin and George Zimmerman had an enormous impact on society, especially the African American society. Several individuals from the black community were outraged by the death of Treyvon Martin. Moreover, this event was immediately labeled as an act of racism.

When this terrible event happened, I was only in the 10th grade. I felt sick to my stomach to hear that a boy around my age was gunned down for carrying a bag of skittles and a juice. It is even more sad that we will never know the whole truth because Treyvon can not tell his part of the story. When I looked deeper into the Treyvon Martin case, I found it very interesting that although both African Americans and Hispanics are minorities, a lot of people placed George Zimmerman in the majority category by labeling him as a “white” Hispanic or a white man. Another thing that shocked me was the multitude of stereotypes that was placed upon Treyvon. Just because he was dark-skinned and wearing a hoodie doesn’t give anybody the right to make assumptions on the type of child he was. The more stereotypes that are forced upon people, the more people start to live by those stereotypes. This just gives society another excuse to belittle a person.

As I was searching through comments about the Treyvon Martin case, a lot of them referred back to race. One question I came across on twitter from Carl Miller said, “I wonder how this would go over if it was a Black man walking around with that same gun?” I found myself pegged with this same question. It is not hard to grasp the concept that America’s principles were built upon racism. So how, as a community, can we change this?

Social issues are never going away. There is always going to be that one person who dislikes you because of your race, cultural background, sexual orientation, or whatever the case may be. The only thing we can do is stay optimistic and hope that people will eventually mature and accept everyone for who they are.

 

3 thoughts on “The Fight Against the Unjust

  1. I loved reading your blog. When I first heard about his death, I was in shock. I too was in the 10th grade when the shooting happened. I still can’t believe that there wasn’t another witness. I agree that If Trayvon was here, he would have told his side of the story. Too bad we will never know what really happened. The fact that Zimmerman attacked him because he was wearing a hoodie is down right wrong. Maybe someday in the future people will not judge other quickly and accept them for who they are. Until then, social differences will be around for a long time. Good job.

  2. It was interesting to see how you stated the question and then placed your opinion right after. That is a really smart way of going about this prompt, it was hard for me because I stated all of the questions and then placed my opinions about all of the questions after ward. Your post was very organized and well supported. I like how you brought up that racism is a huge global problem, but its not just racism against race, its also about racism against sexual orientation, and many other things. You did a really great job!

  3. Your visual piece along with your blog was very stimulating in regards to your perspective on Trayvon’s death. Indeed his death was a travesty, but it is now the precedent for cases such as this. Well done, keep up the good work. I really enjoy your writing.

Leave a Reply

