The Ever Changing World

First off, I want to say what an honor it is to be attending one of the greatest colleges in America. I can’t wait to begin my journey as a wolverine. Ever since I was a young girl, I always knew that I wanted to go to college. The dedication to my education has led me to The University of Michigan. I remember hearing a lot about how my generation could be the one to make a difference and change the world. The media has been giving the class of 2014 a lot of praise. I never heard this much excitement about my graduating year until the day I graduated from high school on June 3. That gives the boost I need to do well in college. I made a vow to myself that I would stay on top of my studies no matter what and to never lose my focus.

 

While I am hitting the books, I still have time to hear and read about current events that is going on outside of the university. One of the most talked about topics in today’s society is legalizing gay marriage. According to HuffingtonPost.com, Massachusetts was the first state to recognize same sex marriages in 2004. As of June 2014, about 18 states have approved same-sex marriages (USA Today). The battle to recognize same-sex marriages has been going on for a while now.

 

I take having an education very seriously. A person can go far with a solid education. It’s a shame that there are certain people who are not grateful for the educational advantages they have in America. There are people who would love to have what Americans take for granted. I heard about these groups that are kidnapping Nigerian girls from schools because they believe a girl should not receive an education. The LA Times reported that the abduction occurred in mid-April. A gunman drove up to a settlement in northern Nigeria and ordered the girls into the truck by gunpoint. The Islamic group, Boko Haram, is opposed to Western education. The group name translated means “Western education is forbidden” in the Hausa language (BCC News).

I guess these men still have this mentality that they are superior over women because they are men. This is not the case. Women are just as powerful as men. I don’t understand why men like the Boko Haram group can’t accept that women want better lives for themselves and not to be someone’s doormat? 

Having an education is like having a backbone, you can’t live without it and you need it for support. Some of those girls who were kidnapped lost that backbone. I pray they survive and get back their backbone. 

Until next time, peace, love and happiness!

                                                                                                                           Kylier Love

 

One thought on “The Ever Changing World

  1. Not bad for your first post! It was a little bit scattered. It went from yourself, to gay rights, to women with no education and then ended up being mostly about women with no education. I think it was well written but could use some organization and at the end it could of been summed up to the main point! Good job!

Leave a Reply

