Staying Safe

From a very young age, my mother instilled in me that college was a necessity, and not a choice. Growing up with this mindset lead me to apply to one of the best schools Michigan has to offer. Besides my mom’s influence, I wanted to attend college because I wanted to set an example for my younger brother. I am the first person in my family to attend a 4 year university and I do not want to be the last. I want to prove to him that no matter what obstacles he encounters a college education is too important to let go.
I am still getting accustomed with being on my own. I am making time to learn more about myself, become self-reliant, and mature as a young adult. Since coming to the University of Michigan, I have been made more aware of the dangers that can lurk both on and off campus. However, I will not let these hazards discourage me from attending this prestigious university.
As I researched an event that is happening as I gain my higher education at U of M, I came across an article about three Israeli teen boys. These teen boys were kidnapped on their way home from school. After days of searching, they were eventually found dead just a few miles from where they were abducted. Just knowing that they were abducted as they were trying to further their education scares me. These boys had the same potential of success as anyone else, but people will never be able to witness the impact these teens may have had on the world.
After reading this article, I will be more aware of my surroundings on campus. This tragedy has made me realize that everyone is not my friend and they do not have the same intentions as myself. Being at U of M makes me want to stay in tune with everything that happens in the world because I understand how quickly a life can be taken. I do not want my mother to be put in the same situation as the families of the Israeli teens.

Brittany Edmondson

5 thoughts on “Staying Safe

  1. I completely agree with your statement of “everyone is not your friend”. There are some crazy people in this world which is why everyone must be extremely aware of their surroundings. Especially people like us who have just been introduced to a new environment.

  2. It is very nice that your are a role model for your younger brother showing him college is the right way to go. I like when you were showing your brother that no matter how many obstacles he encounters he should never should never give up on going to college. It is very sad to hear about the three boys and at the same time how scary it is because that could happen to anybody and anywhere.

  3. Brittany, your post really had an impact on me because of the fact that these kids will never be able to fulfill there full potential in life because of a tragic event and some people that don’t deserve anything in this world. They not only hurt the kids themselves, but they affected a whole community of their friends and families who will never get to see their loved ones grow and succeed in this world. This makes me more aware of my surroundings and i now understand the fact that anything can happen at anytime and i should always be in control of my situation and watch my back.

Leave a Reply

