Changes

basketball

Changes

            There have been many changes in my life. I am the first generation to go to college. I earned a sports scholarship to play basketball for the University of Michigan. I feel grateful for the chance to go to Michigan to be a better student and a better basketball player. I want to go to school to learn more about the things I really do not know about our world. Also, I want to learn to show my family that even if you have a learning disability you can still go to college; all you have to do is work hard. It was not easy I had to work ten times harder than other students because of my learning disability. People were very surprised about me going to college. It just opens people’s eyes and it shows them that just because I learn different, does not mean I can ‘t do what other students can do. I also want to improve my basketball skills for this level of competition. One of my goals for academics is to be an education teacher for special needs children. My second goal is to have a 3.0 GPA when I graduate. I want to attend U of M all four years. It is special to me to have this education because I want to teach kids like myself that just because you learn a different way does not mean that you cannot do what you want to do.

I understand that there are fewer opportunities in the world for women and girls. I found out on a web site called Save the Children that “Girls are more than 70 percent of the 125 million children who don’t have a school to attend” (Save the Children, 2014). I think that is very sad to know that many women and children do not get the chances to learn which will hurt them in the future. I feel honored to have the chance to go to college because not a lot of women get to go. I feel like sometimes I am lazy when it comes to homework or chores, but many women would be grateful and work hard for the chance that I am given. I am happy for the opportunity the university has given me to get a degree for helping children with special needs so I can encourage girls and women to go to school to have a brighter future. The education ration is not fair and it is sexist because women and girls have the same right to go to school just like men. I am experiencing changes in my life right now, but I want to use these changes to take the things I learn here at the University to help with the bigger problems that are happening in the world.

Terra Stapleton

3 thoughts on “Changes

  1. First of all, kudos to you for coming to Michigan. After reading your blog, I feel like I know a little more about you. It’s a shame about the percentage of women not having the opportunity to go to school. That needs to change. I hope you keep developing your writing skills. By the way, nice photo. That’s all.

  2. I thought your blog was so interesting. I liked how you talked about your own life and the struggles you’ve faced. Also, I like how you have set goals for yourself, and I have faith that you will complete them! Good luck for the future!

Leave a Reply

